Home arrow AUSTA Who's Who
Who's Who in AUSTA PDF Print E-mail

Here you will find the names of the members of the AUSTA Management Committee to whom the operation of AUSTA is entrusted.

Patron: RADM Rothesay Swan AO CBE RAN (rtd)

President: Stephen Moss (Young Endeavour Youth Scheme, NSW): Stephen was appointed Executive Director of the Young Endeavour Youth Scheme in 2004, following a Royal Australian Navy career that included appointment as Commanding Officer HMAS Kanimbla. He was awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross in 2002 for his contribution to Navy capability. Stephen is actively involved with sail training - the Young Endeavour Youth Scheme delivers a widely acclaimed youth development program in the national Sail Training Ship Young Endeavour. Stephen is a graduate of the Royal Australian Navy Staff College and holds a Bachelor of Economics and Graduate Diploma of Environmental Law. He is the Australian Sail Training Association's International Representative.

Vice President: CAPT Sarah Parry (Windeward Bound Trust, TAS): Sarah is the builder, Master, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Trustee of the youth development sail training brigantine Windeward Bound. Sarah holds a Masters ticket in square sail, is a former board member and Treasurer of the Sydney Maritime Museum (Sydney Heritage Fleet), and has been involved in sail, steam and other motive power for over 45 years. Prior to Windeward Bound, Sarah was a member of the Royal Australian Navy, and then Senior Vice President of the Tasmanian wilderness based youth development project, PROJECT HAHN. Both Sarah and the Windeward Bound Trust were founding members of AUSTA, and have embraced the ideals of AUSTA since its inception.

Secretary: Jennifer Reilly (Young Endeavour Youth Scheme, NSW): Jennifer joined the sail training community in 2009, coordinating STS Young Endeavour's circumnavigation of Australia. She is currently the Young Endeavour Youth Scheme Marketing Manager. Jennifer has over ten years experience in marketing and public affairs, and has previously worked as a communication advisor for the Australian Defence Force Academy and the Royal Australian Navy. In 2013 she coordinated publicity for the Australia and New Zealand International Tall Ship Festival and the inaugural Sydney Auckland Tall Ships Regatta. She holds Bachelor Degrees in Communication and Applied Economics, and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Treasurer: Jon Simpson (Sydney Heritage Fleet, NSW). Jon retired as the General Manager of Sydney Heritage Fleet in 2012 and devoted himself to organising the 2013 International Fleet Review Tall Ship Festivals held in Australia and New Zealand. Jon has been sailing since he was 11 years old. He first went to sea professionally as a 15 year old deck hand on coasters in the North Sea, before undertaking a marine engineering apprenticeship with the New Zealand Shipping Co. Subsequently, he studied industrial engineering and undertook an MBA in voluntary sector strategic management. Jon sailed James Craig as a deck hand and worked as a riveter on the restoration of the John Oxley, Australia's last coastal steam ship. Jon has considerable experience as Chief Executive of voluntary organisations in Australia and the UK, and has consulted widely in Australia and the US.

Membership Secretary: Robyn Elkington (South Passage, QLD): As a founder member and long serving volunteer for the Queensland Sail Training Association and the tall ship South Passage, Robyn has devoted a great deal of time, energy and hard work to delivering personal development opportunities to Australian youth. A highly experienced and respected sailor, Robyn is a relieving master for South Passage, and has been involved in the office and on deck for over twenty years, providing development opportunities for hundreds of people. In 2013 Robyn was awarded Sail Training International Volunteer of the Year in recognition of her ongoing dedication to sail training. In 2014 Robyn received a Medal of the Order of Australia for her services to youth.

International Youth Representative: Kaela has been an avid sailor since she was young and sailed small dinghies on Sydney Harbour throughout her youth. Kaela first sailed a tall ship in 2012 when she completed a voyage on Young Endeavour. Since then she has sailed on a number of other tall ships both within Australia and overseas. Following the International Fleet Review in Sydney in 2013, Kaela started volunteering with Tall Ships Australia and New Zealand and has become a very active member as the editor of the quarterly newsletter and Instagram administrator. After completing a degree in Paramedics in 2015, Kaela decided to follow her passion for tall ship sailing and is currently a permanent live-aboard volunteer crewmember on the Windeward Bound in Tasmania. She is a watch leader on board and is working towards her Master <24m and MED2 qualifications. 

Committee Member: Dean Lawrence (Spirit of Adventure Trust, New Zealand): Dean took up the position of Chief Executive of the Spirit of Adventure Trust on 1 May 2011. Prior to his appointment he had a long association with the Auckland Coastguard, first as a volunteer and then president of the Northern Region. Dean holds a New Zealand Certificate in Architectural Drafting and is a registered Master Builder. His interests include boating, fishing, and active involvement in surf lifesaving as a Surf Lifeguard IRB driver and instructor.

Committee Member: Murray Henstock (Sail Training International) Murray began his voyage with Sail Training in 2000 as a youth crew member aboard Young Endeavour. Following his initiation he became the crew manager for the HM Bark Endeavour Replica before making his way to becoming the Youth Development and Voyage Coordinator for the Young Endeavour Youth Scheme. During his time there Murray worked on developing corporate training packages and youth programs for the scheme. In 2012 Murray transitioned into Education and has since been linking sail training with education and developing associated programs. Murray now also supports sail training as a member of the Sail Training International Board of Trustees overseeing the International Youth Council, the development of youth programs, education and research. 

Committee Member: Siamack (Sam) Yousofi: Sam was born a long time ago in a place far away. He studied Mechanical Engineering and Music before working in South Africa as a university lecturer. In the early 80’s he migrated to Australia and has since worked as a Senior IT Professional, Aviator, Aviation Safety Analyst (CASA), Public Servant (ABC), Bus Driver and Mariner, to name a few. He moved to Hobart in 2005 as Chief Technology Officer of a computer firm. The passage on Spirit of Tasmania was the second time Sam had been on a boat, and yet he is now a Square Rig Master 4 and MED 2, and a full time lecturer at the Australian Maritime College in Launceston. Sam is also the captain of one of the world’s most beautiful boats - the Steam Yacht Preana, and is studying a PhD in Maritime Safety.

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000; min-height: 14.0px} span.s1 {font-kerning: none}
< Prev   Next >