Home arrow AUSTA Awards
AUSTA Billy Can Award PDF Print E-mail

Billy Can TrophyThe AUSTA Billy Can Trophy was established in 2000, and is awarded as follows:

      • In years of Australian Tall Ship races (excluding Sydney Harbour Races) to be awarded to the vessel with the best corrected time for a 48 hour run.
      • In years that there is not a Tall Ship event the trophy would be awarded to a Sail Training vessel or Organisation for an outstanding achievement in the youth development sail training arena.

The silver trophy is currently held on AUSTA’s behalf by the Australian Heritage Fleet and is on display on the 2nd Floor, Wharf 7, Darling Harbour.
A replica trophy has been made. This replica will be held by the Awardee for twelve months following the award, after which it will be passed on to the next awardee.
More information can be obtained from

Wooden Trophy


Ships and Organisations should not hesitate to send in self nominations if considered appropriate. Envelopes should be clearly marked “Billy Can Award”.

Previous Winners of the Billy Can Award


2001 Rainbow Gypsy

2002 Leeuwin II

2003 Spirit of Adventure Trust NZ

2004 RC Swan (Past President AUSTA)

2005 One & All

2006 Young Endeavour Youth Scheme

2007 Enterprize Ship Trust

2008 QLD Sail Training Association

2009 STS Young Endeavour

2010 One & All 
2013 Windeward Bound

2014 Leeuwin Ocean Adventure Foundation

2015 Young Endeavour Youth Scheme 



Nominations for the Billy Can Award are accepted prior to the Annual General Meeting. Please contact for the nomination form.

The decision of the AUSTA Committee will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.

< Prev   Next >